The perfect Cucumber Trellis

 

 Subscribe in a reader

Today Mr. O and I completed installation of the new Classic American Cucumber Trellis. (I knew you would be excited about it!) It has a frame of heavy cast iron, with an ornate, hand-constructed wire filigree assemblage to perfectly support vigorous climbing vines while allowing leaves and fruit to grow through to sun or shade. I ordered the supporting vertical posts in Estate Green. (It was better, I felt, than Jungle Moss, which was too yellow.)

I’ve been anxiously waiting since I ordered this baby ten days ago from the Smith & Hawkins catalog. Or was it L.L. Bean Home? Anyway, it was worth every bit of the $138 purchase price plus $150 shipping.

Or I could be wrong about that price. Actually, I think it was free. And I remember now:  I found it, up against the chicken house, deep in weeds. Mmmm, yes. Oh but it is perfect.

cucumber trellis

High grade cucumber trellis ready to plant.

It leans north in the raised bed, and I will plant the cucumbers (mostly the wonderful English cucumber Orient Express, but a couple of little lemon climbing cucumbers too, for comic relief) to the south of it, so they can grow skyward in the sun, and then I can put the bush beans or something else (maybe spinach) under the shade of the vines.

So what if it’s a 1921 bed spring? (With a little left-over green spray paint on the old pipes that hold it up.)  It was made to last. When the cucumbers are dripping off it I will post another photo…

Who said an economic depression can’t be fun?

Followup here  for another post on performance of the trellis.

About linniew

Unpublished novelist seeks therapy in gardening. Westie assists.
This entry was posted in stuff for your garden that isn't plants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The perfect Cucumber Trellis

  1. Kellee says:

    This is first-rate recycling. You are quite the “green” gardener!

  2. Fred Stone says:

    Wonderful sense of humor!

    • linniew says:

      Thanks Fred!
      Cheap funny and it works, my favorite combination. Still waiting to plant out the cucumbers this year (they are lounging in the greenhouse) but they will be on that trellis again, it worked liked crazy.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for posting this. I have some of these in the yard. Now just have to decide what I want to plant.

  4. Cheryl says:

    My kids crib and springs are now considered dangerous so won’t be using them for the grandkids. Didn’t have the heart to get rid of them, and now will be forever in my garden!!!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Too funny! Just goes to show, one man’s trash truly is another’s treasure:)

Leave a comment