Just because it’s a bed spring doesn’t mean it isn’t a cucumber trellis.

 Subscribe in a reader

cucumbers climbing

Cucumbers with a southern exposure, and bush beans growing nicely in the shade below.

Now I see the problem with a garden oriented blog. I am always out in the garden, which is not where the computer is. But summer is winding down and I  must complete the saga of the Cucumber Trellis.  Here, as promised, is a shot of the Orient Express (English) cucumbers as they marched up the trellis in July.

About every three weeks I gave these cucumbers a drink of fish fertilizer, and we have had 2-3 lovely English cucumbers available for our eating enjoyment at all times for weeks– I think they first produced in early July. (The tomatoes could learn a few things from them.) Today there are five cucumbers in my refrigerator, and many more coming on the vines!

On the darker side, a deer ate the pepper plants. Then I covered them with bird netting, and now, finally, they have grown new tops and we have three peppers. But this is the summer I learned to use netting A LOT. All salad greens, beans, carrots, and the new fall plantings (broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, brusselssprouts) get netting. I don’t know if it’s a bunny or a deer, but something is Out There, and netting is my new weapon of choice.

About linniew

Unpublished novelist seeks therapy in gardening. Westie assists.
This entry was posted in actual plants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

