Sweetness and Light

Welcome to today’s lovely post.

leopard lily

This mellow, cheerful, uplifting  and  calming  post is dedicated to all the readers who might recently have read, SOMEWHERE, anything  toxic, severe, destructive or otherwise disturbing… We are here to help you heal.

Now just relax. Breathe. Think of something fuzzy (no, not mold.)
Or cheerful. (And not a sunflower because they mostly just die.)

Think of a daisy, like grows where the lawn is supposed to be.
Oh but that would be a weed!

THINK OF THE OCEAN.

(sorry, didn’t mean to shout)

Oregon coast

There, yes, an ocean…

And so, dear disturbed readers, welcome to the land of happy happiness, a sanctuary where you are safe and hardly at all likely to suffer.

Really it is quite a non-threatening sort of place, very few sharp implements around, poisonous plants are all in a dormant state, power saws turned off…

Welcome.

Breathe.

Relax.

Max relaxesThere is no stress about anything, not even about how you haven’t ordered your garden seeds yet or you ordered them and forgot to get the green beans or you ordered them and then a cheaper catalog arrived the next day– no no no, none of that horrible garden performance anxiety at all. Or financial anxiety either. Although seeds are more expensive this year…

But we are letting all that go. Those worries drift off, float away, just like your retirement benefits did~~~ up up up– like the cost of health care~~~

Relax.

Breathe.

And know that behind every flower is a warmly smiling person, waiting to fulfill your every dream…

Tillie smiles…and possibly even your fondest nightmares~~~

[Sigh.] Hasn’t this been wonderful? Flowers, and the ocean, and more flowers…

(I wanted to find a butterfly for you but this time of year the ones I found all had pins in them and they look really different like that.)

And so we part. But now you are acquainted with this haven of tranquility and peace, this refuge for the weary gardener and every other ragtag person out there…

So please join us again soon
–because the real world is just not all it’s cracked up to be.

[okay where’s my beer?]

White Dog beer

About linniew

Unpublished novelist seeks therapy in gardening. Westie assists.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Sweetness and Light

  1. Alberto says:

    …ok and I need a glass of wine.

    BTW the butterflies with pins…

  2. Linnie, you crack me up! Thanks for the meditation.

  3. Lovely – it worked – I feel soothed. The problems are probably still there – but I’ll just ignore them.

  4. Holleygarden says:

    I feel so much better now – NOT! 🙂

  5. Roberta says:

    You could really lead a weekly guided meditation. It’s not quite perfect, swaying between blissful imagery and anxiety inducing thoughts but guided nonetheless, and that’s what some of us need. A guide!

    • linniew says:

      Hi ‘berta,
      A guide should be able to lead someone somewhere while I fear I travel in odd circles. It is well to look for guides though. I met a very interesting one once, through hypnosis…

  6. Roberta says:

    I’d follow you around in an insane circle. Perhaps I am easily led.

  7. b-a-g says:

    Thanks Linnie – Really needed some therapy after recent visits. Please tell Max that his fur looks particularly lovely today. Does he use conditioner?

    • linniew says:

      So glad to be of help b-a-g! I know my blog can be stressful for some readers occasionally–It seemed a little fabulous surprise therapy was in order.

      That image of Max was taken when he was on vacation and staying in a very nice hotel far from mole hills and compost piles and mud, in sunny California. At home he has access to lots of nice dirt to soften the glow.

  8. Grace says:

    White Dog Brewing Company, how cute is that? And your little pup Max must have just had a bath, he looks so fresh and comfy in his little bed….Oh I see from above that he was in California. Well! 🙂 Thank you for the lovely post, Linnie Dear. Just so you know, I’ve sworn off all politics this year. My psyche can’t take all the BS. 🙂 Instead I plan to indulge myself in more of your fine writing and friendship.

    • linniew says:

      You should have known that Max was far from the garden dirt in that photo! Glad you liked my healing blog post. I guess now I can go back to the alarming scary pieces like I apparently usually write…

      Love knowing you too Gracie!

  9. Alistair says:

    So you just expect that everyone who has a cat will know that if they just lick a little of the pollen from your gorgeous Lily they will die in a most excruciating manner. Tillie is keeping her eye on you. I run through my blotanical list of bloggers and visit each one in descending order, just by chance I have your good self right next to Mr K, how spooky is that, couldn’t understand what he was saying either..

    • linniew says:

      Lily pollen? Are you making this up Alistair?

      I would expect the extreme clarity and reason you find on MY blog would certainly help counteract the unfathomable nature of Kininvie’s writing. But yes that proximity is very spooky.

      • kininvie says:

        In the face of the usual insults (what have I done to deserve them?) I shall confine myself to asking whether you consider yourself more poculiform than usual? If so, the beer may be to blame.

      • Alistair says:

        Ah Linnie, I thought in a subliminal way you were drawing us to the beauty of the Lily when in fact it really does have the ability to kill. Did you ever find out what happened to your beloved cat did K in fact lace its food with this deadly substance. On a lighter note, the pollen of the lily is has no effect on us humans, but yes it is indeed highly toxic to our feline friends. alistair

  10. Holleygarden says:

    I love your sense of humor, and enjoy your posts immensely, that why I am awarding you the Versatile Blogger award. You can read more about it at my post here: http://dreamingofroses.blogspot.com/2012/01/1-blooms.html I hope you will accept it and have fun passing it on to others. Congratulations! 🙂

  11. Sheila says:

    I have been so unhinged by your post that I am awarding you the Versatile Blogger award. See http://greenplace-chapelhill.blogspot.com/2012/01/i-thought-id-share-favorite-photograph.html

  12. Very, very nice! We all need to take a moment to grasp these types of wonderful images! We have had a lot of sunny days this winter vs. the cloudy days we usually have, and I am inspired to work outside in the garden and relish it.

  13. Lyn says:

    Linnie, I enjoy your blog so much that I want to give you a Versatile Blogger Award. I’ve announced the award and linked to you on this post, which also has instructions on passing the award on if you wish to:

    http://theamateurweeder.blogspot.com.au/2012/02/surprise-from-becky.html

    • linniew says:

      Why thank you Lyn, I am honored! I like your blog about your faraway gardens, and I very much appreciate your coming here and especially your always fun comments!

  14. cynthia says:

    I cackled out loud when I got to the picture with the very scary lady lurking behind the purple flowering bush (I am probably disqualified from ever posting here again after admitting I don’t know the name of that bush).

  15. Linnie, another inspiring and wonderfully written post. I always enjoy your writing and have, therefore, nominated you and your Blog for The Versatile Blogger Award. My post this week includes your nomination and a link to your writing. ~Debra

  16. OMG you are hilarious! Thank god I read that while slightly intoxicated by wine…lol!! Looking forward to more posts like this, thanks for making my night…hugs xx

    • linniew says:

      Hi Julia!
      So glad you were properly prepared before reading–I should probably get a wine widget for my blog, for all readers, so my words might seem consistently reasonable…Love having you visit! xxoo to you too–L

  17. Spectra says:

    Wow – 4 Versatile Bloggers Awards in one post ? (sounds exhausting)

    This post actually was meditative and relaxing. You’ve convinced me – Instead of stressing out about new seeds, I think I’ll just re-use last years seeds. That way I can procrastinate some more. If they don’t sprout, I can run out at the last minute and buy discount seed. Or just dig some up from around the neighborhood. Yeah. That last thing. That’s better. 😀

    • linniew says:

      Doesn’t everyone use last year’s seeds? I never throw those expensive little packets away until they’re empty! If I had to buy all new seed every year then I couldn’t afford to buy stuff like say coffee and I’d perish and then who would water the garden? Not Tillie that’s for sure. And the way Max waters you wouldn’t want on the garden. So yeah, use the old seed. But seeds are probably cheaper to buy than the black clothing and mask you will need for that digging-up-the-neighborhood plan. It does, however, show your versatility…

  18. Aimee says:

    By the way, Linnie, I know you’ve already been nominated for the Versatile Blogger award thing that’s been circulating, but I don’t care – I had to second that emotion (or is it third?) and give you a shout-out myself. There’s no way I could have made a list of my favorite gardening blogs and not included you on it. Details are on my latest post. Do with it what you will (or won’t) – no matter to me. I’m just a big fan and wanted to try and turn some other people on to your site!

    • linniew says:

      Thank you Aimee! I just read your post and enjoyed learning some fascinating (and surprising) things about you. I love visiting YOUR blog and I always enjoy your comments here too. — I truly appreciate your including me among your favorites.

      • Aimee says:

        Oops! Somehow I mistakenly cut out the part of my comment that actually applied to your POST!

        Suffice it to say your guided meditation completely cracked me up. I am adding MAX to my own personal happy place, which is a forest full of mouse deer in Tanzania. Ahhh….better already. (but a beer doesn’t hurt either.)

Leave a Reply

