O frabjous day!

No Jabberwocks today, but a few things are blooming…

ThunbergiaThis is a peachy Thunbergia (Black-eyed Susan vine). She is certifiably afraid of heights but the climb is short from her vintage wooden hanging pot to this dead but useful lilac limb. Nice smile.

meadowsweetA light-colored Meadowsweet. (Filipendula I think.) Tall with soft pink fragrant clouds of bloom, a wildflower, ancient, dependable, AND a groovy name.

sweet peas on trellisSweet peas are blooming on the twiggy trellis by the greenhouse. (Yes there is still a new clematis in there too– the peas were a little more vivacious than I expected.) I used the seed from last year, and the flowers last year were mixed colors, but here we have almost only red ones. (I wish that little monk who charted all the peas and developed the science of genetics with which I struggled in school was here to talk about this with me.)

Clematis jackmaniiThis Clematis jackmanii is getting pretty on the board fence. You might be wondering about my infamous clematis cutting project. Well I want to say that there have been a few little funerals (simple compost pile affairs) but some of our contestants are still in the game. More later…

batchelor buttonMoving into my blue palette (yes that is without a doubt a blue flower Carolyn!), here is the modest Batchelor Button or Cornflower or Centaurea cyanus, grown from seed first timesies this year, tall as me, blue like the sky.

white bell flowerThe peach-leaved bellflower (Campanula persicifolia) has naturalized in a couple of places in my garden. The blue ones bloomed earlier, but I do love the white ones too. The wind was blowing this morning and I will blame this even worse than usual less-than-clear-image on that, or on the full moon tonight, or maybe on the caulking gun…Life is full of mysteries.

About linniew

Unpublished novelist seeks therapy in gardening. Westie assists.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to O frabjous day!

  1. Wow! those sweet peas are a bit over-bold!

  2. Nell Jean says:

    What delightful Bloom Day blossoms! Most of them are spring bloomers here and we have moved on to more tropical delights. Bloom Day is such fun because of the diverse gardens we get to see.

    • linniew says:

      Thanks Nell Jean– I like wildflowers and native plants, pretty low-key but makes me happy. (I love roses too but left them out this time; they become insufferable if I give them too much attention.)

  3. Greggo says:

    you’ve left me hanging. err. twining?

  4. Grace says:

    Those clemmies on the fence look perfect. Send the monk my way when you’re finished. I’ve got a few questions of my own.

  5. Frustrating post. Sweet peas make me sneeze so I can’t grow them (even though I’d like to) and you’ve reminded me how much I like cornflowers and how often I forget to put any in my garden.

    Esther

    • linniew says:

      I always plan to seed California poppies in the lane but I forget that too. Wish I could email you a bouquet of sneezeless sweet peas Esther.

  6. Sheila says:

    What a beautiful red on the sweet peas – we have such different climates. Peas are a distant memory in the South … I like the windblown campanula photo. Yes, and don’t keep us hanging on the clematis project – still perhaps my favorite of all your funny posts.

  7. Angie Case says:

    Your clematis post inspired me to go chop up something I love… A tiny hydrangea that my daughter gave me for mother’s day! The original plant looks pretty … well, chopped on but has new growth all over it. I hope one day it’s a monster! I love those sweet peas! Brilliant gawdy little things, aren’t they? Stick your nose in them for me please, they’re my favorite flower and while they grow wild all over the place here, they refuse to grow in my garden. Maybe the new project will have better luck with them. Think they’re fussy enough to insist on a new fence before growing?

    I have garden envy Linnie! Your flowers are absolutely beautiful!

    • linniew says:

      I will send Grow Energy to the hydrangea cuttings… I bet you can get sweet peas to thrive on your new garden fence Angie! I always start them in a flat or pots– they don’t tend to start outside for me, always too wet or they become someone’s breakfast…

  8. You were optimisticwith your twiggy trellis, Linnie and stilll the sweet peas outstripped it. By contrast, I assumed stunted growth and now they are bending back on themsleves and complaining. Did you not know that Mendel the monk fixed his data? He liked the trinity of a 3:1 ratio better than the random results. . .

    • linniew says:

      I just KNEW it. That miserable Mendel. I shall personally hold him responsible for my monochrome peas. I’m glad yours grew well too Laura– next time you’ll trellis tall.

  9. Cathy says:

    Oh gosh, I do love the campanula. As for the little monk, forget it — they take a vow of silence. Ask me, ask me, I know these things!

  10. Lovely, lovely blooms! I miss my clematis…it has finished blooming…but I can enjoy yours.

Leave a Reply

