Who’s in charge here?

It’s a cold day in July in Western Oregon.

And a great big bunch of states to the east and south are cooking. Big time.

But honestly it is 59 degrees F. here and raining. Shooting for a high of 70. I’m not complaining, but you must agree that somebody has truly broken the weather. Hard to say what the problem is but you might check out some of the new electric vehicles if you happen to be well-enough employed to buy a car.

And then plant a tree, if you get a chance.

But back to the garden.

fairy roses in the rainThe rain has all the blooming plants bent over looking at the ground like they just lost some communal contact lens.

I’ve been working on the house painting project and getting very acquainted with every detail of the porch, especially all the nail holes and cracks that need filling.  Mr. O thinks it best that I use a caulking gun for that, but I really think that might be because he finds it so entertaining when I am decorated with smudges of caulk. I hate caulk. It’s like honey, or jam, it has a life of it’s own and it travels.

caulk gun

This is a caulking gun. It’s not the kind of gun you can kill yourself with and that’s lucky because kill yourself is pretty much what you want to do after about ten minutes of using the caulking gun.

dispensing caulk

It works like this: you squeeze the little trigger thing and the dispensing of caulk commences. (There is no safety on this gun.)

rampant caulk

And then you turn it off but NO it just keeps coming, like the Mississippi River or the electric bills or mosquitos at night when you leave the door open.

(Well isn’t that nice. Mr. O says I have been turning it off wrong. Now he tells me. Why has that been such a secret for twenty years?)

feetBut I get paint all over me anyway so who cares?

I am excited to have my house painted (I do it every thirty years whether it needs it or not) and each day I put on my designer jeans and shirt (designed daily, more or less) and climb a ladder and paint, or crawl around on the floor and sand or have it out with the caulking gun, those sorts of things.

new paint on the porchHere is the project the other day in the sun. Gettin’ there.

I used to have nice plants by the porch, but the scaffolding is such an obstruction that I have pretty much neglected the ones I haven’t actually stepped on and they all have variegated foliage now thanks to my system of painting, rather like a brush that is also a sprayer.

crepe myrtle paintedHere is my crape myrtle. It has white flowers but it never blooms (why is that?) so maybe a little white paint will just give it the idea…

In other news, the deer dropped by for a visit. Now I know how tall they are.

rose eaten

And Tillie’s back from Italy. She’s not sharing.

About linniew

Unpublished novelist seeks therapy in gardening. Westie assists.
This entry was posted in my 19th century house, Tillie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Who’s in charge here?

  1. Angie Case says:

    Wet and raining hard today too with a high of 70 as well in Weed, Ca (Northern, Ca). This weather is crap! Not like anyone much listens to my vote though! Your house painting project is looking good! Glad Tilly’s back but I think you deserve some of that vino! Here’s hoping the sun shines on you soon!

    • linniew says:

      You aren’t that far from my house Angie. And I lived in Ashland for a while once, even closer. In truth I grew up in Oregon and I do better in cool than in extended high temps. Wish I could mail some moderation to our friends in the heat.

  2. Cathy says:

    Hot and humid all day (well into the 90’s) then rain late in the day cooled it off. But only YOU could turn that into out and out giggles. Watch that Tillie. I heard talk that she was trying to fit the deer with high heels….. that rascal!

    If you get tired of painting white, we have some green paint that needs slopping on the house…. ya know, in case you want a change of pace….

    Tooo Funny!

  3. kininvie says:

    Well it’s summer here in Scotland….two days with the temperature above 70F…unheard of! But the forecast says back to rain tomorrow, so that’ll be summer over

    • linniew says:

      Hard for gardeners isn’t it! What we are experiencing is atypical for this area– Usually July and August, and often a great part of September, are pretty much dry and can be very hot, always 80’s and often 90’s or more for a week now and then. A gray morning here again today, to reach 74F though, good enough to dry paint!

  4. Alberto says:

    You’re doing a great job, getting dirty is a must.
    I hate caulk too and tell Mr. O there’s no way to release the trigger and stopping that sticky blob immediately. If he finds out, please, let us know.
    (look at that tillie arm! great!)

    • linniew says:

      I just knew I should have gone right out in the dark last night and tested Mr O’s instructions on that miserable caulk gun shut off! Thanks for the support Alberto. We house repair people must stick together, which is not that hard when caulking…

  5. Aimee says:

    Don’t let Tillie anywhere near your paint supply or house for that matter after she polishes off that bag!

    Congrats on conquering the caulk gun (or at least putting up a damn good fight.) The house looks great already. Maybe you’ll inspire the crape myrtle to produce some REAL white blossoms.

    Enjoy your cool weather while you’ve got it! We’ve been baking in Brooklyn, and I don’t mean bread!

    • linniew says:

      Tillie is quite low-profile around here right now, pretty much just drinking and watching Johnny Depp movies. Wish I could send you some cool weather Aimee. I bet the cats are all sitting in front of the fan…

  6. b-a-g says:

    Linnie – I don’t mean to be controversial, but aren’t husbands supposed to do the d-i-y stuff ?

  7. linniew says:

    At my house, Bag, there is just so much DIY to be done that we are BOTH kept busy. I don’t mention Mr. O’s work much (he can get his own blog) but this summer he is doing all carpentry, roofing, car repairs, laundry (!), orchards, and working (for income) too — We’re actually pretty balanced for as unbalanced as we are 🙂

  8. Linnie, you are an absolute scream! I love your posts, they always make me laugh, some more than others, this one in particular.

    PS: Enjoy the painting 🙂

    • linniew says:

      Oh Christine, I was all set to paint the finish coat on all the white trim on the porch today but I forgot to get the new can of paint out of the car and Mr. O drove away with it. So I must spend the day in the garden instead. Isn’t that the saddest thing? (Hooray hooray!)

  9. Grace says:

    Painting, uh… Not my favorite thing to do. Kudos to you for sticking with it and not harming yourself [with the gun or any other handy object] in the process. Glad Tillie’s back. I think while she’s napping you should take a peak inside her bag. Methinks there’s lots of interesting things in there.

    • linniew says:

      “Sticking with it” is an interesting choice of words Grace and true in just so many ways when it comes to this painting project. And how very Miss Marple of you to suggest that I look into Tillie’s wine bag. I’ll have to have a couple glasses of Trader Joe’s cheap wine first–(she won’t give me the Italian red). This could be dangerous

  10. kininvie says:

    Hi Linnie,
    Don’t forget your Shakespeare when the weather goes wrong….

    The seasons alter: hoary-headed frosts
    Fall in the fresh lap of the crimson rose,
    And on old Hiems’ thin and icy crown
    An odorous chaplet of sweet summer buds
    Is, as in mockery, set: the spring, the summer,
    The childing autumn, angry winter, change
    Their wonted liveries, and the mazed world,
    By their increase, now knows not which is which:

    You may think it’s global warming, but I know it’s just Oberon quarreling with Titania again.

    • linniew says:

      I like it. Probably because:
      “Lovers and madmen have such seething brains,
      Such shaping fantasies, that apprehend
      More than cool reason ever comprehends.
      The lunatic, the lover, and the poet
      Are of imagination all compact.”
      (–And certain gardeners are too.)

Leave a Reply

