Those other fawns.

Just about everyone grows crocuses in the spring, but today I am here to tell you to get some fawn lilies. They are blooming in Western Oregon right this minute, and here is a motivating photograph I took the last time the sun was shining which is not today, today it is raining– again.

fawn lily

Erythronium oregonum

The Plant Goddess and I started growing these lilies a couple of years ago and we have been gone on them ever since. They spread nicely in your own lifetime, and I even had some volunteer in the little pasture that Mr. O is turning into a fruit orchard. (After I found them they were there for the time it took me to find my shovel and move them to a garden bed.) One of my more distant neighbors has fawn lilies all over her horse pasture, which isn’t fair at all. They also come up in the ditch near my mailbox, and really I hardly ever dig them up there.

Fawn lilies are also sometimes called Dog-tooth Violets which is just about the most inappropriate and inadequate name imaginable and suggests some tiny purple flower that needs orthodontia. I simply refuse to use that name ever except to let you know to not use it and to call them fawn lilies instead, an adorable name and the leaves are spotted like fawns.

In other news, the Trilliums are blooming too. In Oregon we have several, and it’s pretty easy to find T. ovatum (Western Trillium) and T. albidum (Giant White Trillium) for sale at native plant nurseries so all you have to do is mortgage your house and buy some.

Trillium ovatum

Trillium ovatum

These lovely lilies are the some of the early spring advance guard for all the fabulous native plants that grow in these parts. The Plant Goddess and I have made quite a study of such plants and boy do I have a lot to tell you about that so stay tuned.

About linniew

Unpublished novelist seeks therapy in gardening. Westie assists.
This entry was posted in Pacific Northwest native plants, The Plant Goddess. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

